ALA Books Spotlight {2}

2012, ALA, ALA Books Spotlight

ALA Books Spotlight {2}

I went to ALA Midwinter and came home with quite a few books, all of which I’m excited for. But as I added them to Goodreads, I noticed that a lot of them didn’t have a lot of adds. I wanted to spotlight some of those to bring them to your attention in case you haven’t heard about them. Most of the featured books have less than 200 adds, with a couple that have about 300…definitely all under 400 though. I will have a post from now until Friday showcasing them, so check back each day! Here we go. :)
handmedown
Hand Me Down by Melanie Thorne
Publication Date: April 12th 2012 by Dutton Adult
Add it on Goodreads!

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents’ cruel mistakes. Their father, who’d rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz’s mother swearing, “I would never hurt you, Liz. You’re family,” propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

 

 

losersinspace
Losers in Space by John Barnes
Publication Date: January 31st 2012 by Bloomsbury USA
Add it on Goodreads!

It is the year 2129 . . . and fame is all that matters.

Susan and her friends are celebutantes. Their lives are powered by media awareness, fed by engineered meals, and underscored by cynicism. Everyone has a rating; the more viewers who ID you, the better. So Susan and her almost-boyfriend Derlock cook up a surefire plan: the nine of them will visit a Mars-bound spaceship and stow away. Their survival will be a media sensation, boosting their ratings across the globe. There’s only one problem: Derlock is a sociopath. Breakneck narrative, pointed cultural commentary, warm heart, accurate science, a kickass heroine, and a ticking clock…who could ask for more?

 

 

countingbackwards
Counting Backwards by Laura Lascarso
Publication Date: August 14th 2012 by Atheneum BfYR
Add it on Goodreads!

Three weeks ago I tried to run away from home. Now all I want is to go back.

When troubled Taylor Truwell is caught with a stolen car and lands in court for resisting arrest, her father convinces the judge of an alternative to punishment: treatment in a juvenile psychiatric correctional facility. Sunny Meadows is anything but the easy way out, and Taylor has to fight hard just to hold on to her sanity as she battles her parents, her therapist, and vicious fellow patients. But even as Taylor struggles to hold on to her stubborn former self, she finds herself relenting as she lets in two unlikely friends-Margo, a former child star and arsonist, and AJ, a mysterious boy who doesn’t speak. In this striking debut, Laura Lascarso weaves together a powerful story of anger and self-destruction, hope and love.

 

 

thedownsideofcharlie
The Downside of Being Charlie by Jenny Torres Sanchez
Publication Date: May 22nd 2012 by Running Press Kids
Add it on Goodreads!

Charlie is handed a crappy senior year. Despite losing thirty pounds over the summer, he still gets called “Chunks” Grisner. What’s worse, he has to share a locker with the biggest Lord of the Rings freak his school has ever seen. He also can’t figure out whether Charlotte VanderKleaton, the beautiful strawberry lip-glossed new girl, likes him the way he likes her. Oh, and then there’s his mom. She’s disappeared—again—and his dad won’t talk about it. Somewhere between the madness, Charlie can at least find comfort in his one and only talent that just might get him out of this life-sucking place. But will he be able to hold his head above water in the meantime?

 

 

whitehorse
White Horse by Alex Adams
Publication Date: April 17th 2012 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Add it on Goodreads!

White Horse is the first book in an absolutely unique debut trilogy—a post-apocalyptic thriller chronicling one woman’s quest to nurture those she holds dear against the backdrop of a shocking, new world.

Thirty-year-old Zoe leads an ordinary life until the end of the world arrives. She is cleaning cages and floors at Pope Pharmaceuticals when the President of the United States announces that human beings are no longer a viable species.

When Zoe realizes that everyone she loves is disappearing, she starts running. Scared and alone in a shockingly changed world, she embarks on a remarkable journey of survival and redemption.

Along the way, Zoe comes to see that humans are not defined by their genetic code, but rather by their actions and choices. White Horse offers hope for a broken world, where love can lead to the most unexpected places.

 

 

172hours
172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
Publication Date: April 17th 2012 by Little, Brown
Add it on Goodreads!

Three teenagers are going on the trip of a lifetime. Only one is coming back. It’s been more than forty years since NASA sent the first men to the moon, and to grab some much-needed funding and attention, they decide to launch an historic international lottery in which three lucky teenagers can win a week-long trip to moon base DARLAH 2 – a place that no one but top government officials even knew existed until now. The three winners, Antoine, Midori, and Mia, come from all over the world. But just before the scheduled launch, the teenagers each experience strange, inexplicable events. Little do they know that there was a reason NASA never sent anyone back there until now – a sinister reason. But the countdown has already begun…

 

 

Check out the other featured books!

Monday’s post

 

ALA Books Spotlight {3}
ALA Books Spotlight {1}

Jess @ Gone with the Words

Jess @ Gone with the Words

About Jess @ Gone with the Words

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Facebook
Jess is a 30 something female living in Texas. Most days you will find her on Twitter, giving her opinion on her latest reads, her latest tv obsessions, movies, and hot dudes. In her free time she loves to watch tv, movies, and of course, read tons of books with hot dudes in them. She also makes time to run this blog. :)

8 Responses to “ALA Books Spotlight {2}”

  1. Kimberly Peterson

    Hand Me Down and Counting Backwards sound really good.  I can’t wait for their release!  Thanks for putting the little known books out there, it’s always great to discover new authors.

  2. Shannon P.

    I’m not crazy about the cover of Counting Backwards but the premise sounds good.Haha we both featured 172 Hours on the Moon today. I have it up as part of my Release Me Cover post.  Seriously I love that you’re doing this. I’ll be back again tomorrow :)

  3. Ari

    This books sound great. I can’t wait for some of them. 
    The last cover is a bit creepy, but it might be interesting :)

  4. Bookgoonie

    Those first couple are a little heart wrenching. I’m looking forward to reading Hand Me Down. Quite a few space/futuristic books coming down the pile.

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.