Glimpse at Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards Nominees!

Uncategorized

Glimpse at Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Awards Nominees!

Some of you may be able to tell that I am huge fan of Romance novels. I have to have some romance in any story I read. I want to one day go to the RT BOOK REVIEWS Booklovers’ Convention. This past week, they announced their nominees for their annual RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards and a lot of my favorite books and/or authors made the list!! The RT Bookreviewer’s Award Ceremony will be held in Orlando, Florida, but I’m not quite certain when the winners will be announced. I looked for a date but wasn’t able to find one.

You can find the complete list of nominees HERE, but I wanted to highlight ones I’ve reviewed or read and loved, as well as authors I love.

Contemporary Romance

ONLY YOURS by Susan Mallery, HQN, (September 2011)

“Only Yours proved that just when I think I’ve read my favorite in the series, the new one comes out and tops it.” – Read my full REVIEW.

Jill Shalvis is also nominated in this category. She’s a new favorite of mine!

 

Historical Romance of the Year

ELEVEN SCANDALS TO START TO WIN A DUKE’S HEART by Sarah MacLean, AVON, (May 2011)

I didn’t review this one on the blog, but I LOVED it!! I gave it 5 STARS! This whole trilogy was great!

 

Historical Fiction

LORD JOHN AND THE SCOTTISH PRISONER by Diana Gabaldon, DELACORTE, (November 2011)

If you know me, you know OUTLANDER is one of my favorite series..this Lord John novel includes Jaime Fraser, one of the main characters from OUTLANDER, so yea, I’m reading it!

 

Vampire Romance

LOVER UNLEASHED by J.R. Ward, NAL, (April 2011)

”I savored it and didn’t rush through it because I knew that as soon as I finished it, I would want more.” – Read my full REVIEW.

ARCHANGEL’S BLADE by Nalini Singh, BERKLEY SENSATION, (September 2011)

I LOVE this series! I haven’t read this one yet, but I hope to get to it soon. :)

 

Paranormal Fiction

GRAVEMINDER by Melissa Marr, MORROW, (May 2011)

“Simply put, I loved this book. It was a yearning love story, with some mystery, intrigue and original gothic, supernatural aspects.” – Read my full REVIEW.

 

Urban Fantasy Novel

ONE GRAVE AT A TIME by Jeaniene Frost, AVON, (September 2011)

I didn’t review this one on the blog, but I absolutely LOVED it! I gave it 4 STARS!

 

Indie Press Romance

TURN IT UP by Inez Kelley, CARINA PRESS, (August 2011)

”There was so much I loved about Turn It Up. The characters, the sexual tension, the relationships, the banter…it all made for a heartfelt love story.” – Read my full REVIEW.

 

Young Adult Novel

This was a fun review to write. I did it in Top Ten list form. Check it out HERE!

The other nominees in this category are:
WHERE SHE WENT by Gayle Forman, Penguin Group, (April 2011)
BEAUTY QUEENS by Libba Bray, SCHOLASTIC, (June 2011)
THE OTHER COUNTESS by Eve Edwards, DELACORTE, (July 2011)

 

Young Adult Protagonist

THE NAME OF THE STAR by Maureen Johnson, PUTNAM, (October 2011)

“The ending was suspenseful and it left off on a very intriguing discovery!!” – Read my full REVIEW.

The other nominees in this category are:
TIGER’S CURSE by Colleen Houck, SPLINTER, (January 2011)
STRINGS ATTACHED by Judy Blundell, SCHOLASTIC, (March 2011)
DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth, KATHERINE TEGEN, (May 2011)

 

YA Paranormal/Futuristic Novel

THE SCORPIO RACES by Maggie Stiefvater, SCHOLASTIC, (October 2011)

“Maggie outdid herself with the beautiful imagery in this book. The island, the horses, the people, the festival and the food, the race, the ocean, the deaths, THAT ENDING!!” – Read my full REVIEW.

DARKEST MERCY by Melissa Marr, HARPERCOLLINS, (March 2011)

”I was completely over the moon at how perfect this book was.” – Read my full REVIEW.

BUMPED by Megan McCafferty, Blazer+Bray, (May 2011)

“This book really made me laugh, but it also had some really tender moments.” – Read my full REVIEW.

And this one I haven’t read yet, but plan to very soon:
ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Beth Revis, RAZORBILL, (January 2011)

 

Sadness!

I must say, I was a little sad Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead didn’t make it as a nominee. It was the last in the series and such a great ending. (Read my REVIEW).

 

Now, tell me your thoughts!!
Did your favorites make the list?

 

Jess @ Gone with the Words

13 Responses to “Glimpse at Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards Nominees!”

  1. oodlesofbooks

    I  haven’t read any of these! I need to get on it. Thanks for sharing this list :)

  2. Cialina

    I ALWAYS feel obligated to read the best romance novels… So I have to add more to the tbr pile now. Sigh. But I am SO happy that Sarah MacLean is on this list. :) Also, I REALLY REALLY need to start the Lord John series.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.