Review: Trouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne | Blog Tour + Giveaway!

2015, ContemporaryRomance2015, Giveaways, Reviews, Reviews by Jess

Review: Trouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne | Blog Tour + Giveaway!Trouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne
Published by HarperTeen
Pub Date: April 28th 2015
Pages: 400
Format: ARC | Source: Blog Tour
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Buy the book! | Goodreads
4 Stars

One of two companion novels from beach-read favorite Rachel Hawthorne, this cute, romantic paperback original is about a good girl who falls for a bad guy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can’t seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn’t bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

Trouble from the Start releases simultaneously with companion novel The Boyfriend Project. These heartwarming paperback originals are the perfect summer reads, great for fans of Jennifer Echols, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti.

Trouble From the Start has that classic Young Adult contemporary feel, like the one I get when reading a Sarah Dessen novel. There’s something nostalgic about it…

I love stories of couples from different backgrounds. Avery and Fletcher couldn’t have had more different lives. She comes from a loving family, with a cop for a dad, applies herself to her studies, doesn’t do typical teenage things like drinking or dating, and pretty much has had her future set from an early age. Fletcher, on the other hand, has one parent who is mean drunk, has a low self-esteem, randomly hooks up with girls, doesn’t believe he has much of a future, so school’s not his thing.

So how do these two form a relationship? A bad situation puts them living in the same house. Grant it, he stays above the garage, but it’s still the same house. I thought it’d be a tricky situation to navigate but Rachel Hawthorne does a good job at balancing it. Because this book is dual POV, we get first hand knowledge of what these two are feeling and thinking. Sometimes Fletcher’s POV was really sad. He doesn’t feel worthy of a lot of the good things happening in his life since moving in with Avery’s family, and it just made me so sad for him. Avery is a great support and he actually really helps her loosen up and see that life doesn’t have to be so serious.

Another great aspect of this story is Avery’s family. They’re loving and supportive and open. Avery’s relationship with her dad was so touching. And the compassion and trust in that man was just plain ol’ amazing.

Trouble From the Start is a companion novel to The Boyfriend Project, which I’m interested to read for the sole purpose of redeeming Kendall’s character in my eyes. Kendall is Avery’s best friend and she got on my nerves so bad, y’all! LOL To me, it feels like maybe The Boyfriend Project comes before Trouble From the Start, even though they don’t HAVE to be read in order. Timeline wise though, I think it comes first and I can’t wait to read it and more books from Rachel Hawthorne in the future.

 

Giveaway

  Trouble From the Start & The Boyfriend Project -OR- One Perfect Summer (both by Rachel Hawthorne, both 2 books!)

About Rachel Hawthorne

Rachel Hawthorne, who also writes as Lorraine Heath and Jade Parker, is the daughter of a British beauty (her mother won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero-who played the Joker on the old Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Herts, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her “dual” nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan. She enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” She writes for both adult and young adult readers. She received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for Americana historicals. Her novels have been recognized with a RITA, Romance Writers of America’s most prestigious award for excellence, a HOLT medallion award honoring outstanding literary fiction, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award, five Texas Gold Awards, the Golden Quill Award, the Rising Star Award as well as other awards and recognitions. Her novels have been selections of the Doubleday and Rhapsody Book Club. Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times

Buy the book: Amazon | The Book Depository | B&N | iBooks

Tour Schedule

Week 1:
Mon., 4/27 – The Irish Banana Review (Guest Post & Review)
Tues., 4/28 – My Guilty Obsession (Review)
Wed., 4/29 – FictionFare (Review)
Thurs., 4/30 – Swoony Boys Podcast (Q&A & Review)
Fri., 5/1 – Andi’s ABCs (Guest Post)

Week 2:
Mon., 5/4 – Book Rocky Betty (Review)
Tues., 5/5 – Supernatural Snark (Q&A)
Wed., 5/6 – Reading W/ABC (Review)
Thurs., 5/7 – No BS Book Reviews (Q&A)
Fri., 5/8 – YOU’RE HERE!

 

Bout of Books 13
Thursday Tracks: Misery Business

Jess @ Gone with the Words

Jess @ Gone with the Words

About Jess @ Gone with the Words

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Facebook
Jess is a 30 something female living in Texas. Most days you will find her on Twitter, giving her opinion on her latest reads, her latest tv obsessions, movies, and hot dudes. In her free time she loves to watch tv, movies, and of course, read tons of books with hot dudes in them. She also makes time to run this blog. :)

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.