Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

2016, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

Library Browsing

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan– it’s so hard to remember whether I was reading book blogs at this point; I might have been? In any case, I saw the original cover online and loved the idea of a dream boy being real, so I found it at a library nearish me and drove to get it. BEST DECISION. It’s a really fantastic trilogy.

Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough– one of my best finds!! I drove to the library in the next county to pick up Unspoken and when I was there, I found this on the shelves. It looked so intriguing and creepy, and the tagline really got me! It is by far my favorite horror book, I can’t believe I managed to read it at night.

A Curse Dark As Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce– I had never read a Rumplestiltskin retelling before and I can never resist a fairy tale, esp with historical influence. Plus I tend to love Scholastic titles.

Courtship and Curses by Marissa Doyle– it’s hard to resist magic and Regency England and this was a super charming, funny book that I love to recommend now.

 

Bookstore Browsing

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima– this has to be one of the first YA books I read when I started really reading YA. I remember finding it in Barnes & Noble and being intrigued by the cover/synopsis. And no one at the store could tell me anything about it! Luckily I took the chance because it’s an awesome series.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis– another one of my first YAs (December 2011-January 2012 is when I really started digging in). I found the cover with the running girl at Barnes & Noble and promptly got the sequel from the library because I loved it so much!

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton– I picked this up and put it back a few times actually! I loved the cover but wasn’t completely sold on the synopsis. Luckily for me, I bought it on a summer trip with my family and discovered a new favorite author.

 

Recommendations

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill– I specifically remember reading a MTB review on Christina’s blog and knew that I had to finally try YA contemporary. Plus that cover!! Pastel, pretty London. I might have bought it for those two reasons alone ;)

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli– this is another favorite that I purchased solely based on the overwhelming number of great reviews from trusted bloggers/friends. Hype gets to me sometimes but I think this was early enough where it just made it sound super appealing instead. And it was!! So glad I made a rash purchase for once :)

Blurbs

Wildflower Hill by Kimberley Freeman– 100% picked this up because Kate Morton, my very favorite author, blurbed it; pretty sure I saw it on an endcap in Target! If a book is blurbed by her or “for fans of Kate Morton”, I will read it.

 

Review: Don't You Cry by Mary Kubica
Review: The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson

Morgan @ Gone with the Words

Morgan @ Gone with the Words

About Morgan @ Gone with the Words

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram
Morgan lives in the Bay Area with her husband and her beagle. When she's not snuggling or taking care of Andy, she is reading, watching Disney movies, or drinking tea. Sometimes all at once! Her twitter tends to be bookish by day, sporty by night, and active all. the. time. Her TBR pile is out of control, as I'm sure you can sympathize. She is a big fan of caps locks, OMGs, movies, Chris Hemsworth, and anything British. Tweet her!

16 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim”

  1. Zoey @ Uncreatively Zoey

    Ahhhh yes The Lynburn Legacy!!! I still haven’t read the last one. Honestly I think I just don’t want it to end! I think it’s such an underrated series and I totally found it just by looking around in B&N one time, haha.

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      Oh it’s sooooo good! But I know that feeling for sure. I’d love to read them all back-to-back sometime. Such cliffhangers! Isn’t it the best when you randomly discover something great?!

  2. Angie

    I really want to read Unspoken and Courtship and Curses. I’ve never even heard of A Curse Dark as Gold but now I need to check it out.

    I love that your Kate Morton love started with a random bookstore selection. EXCELLENT LIFE CHOICES.

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      PLEASE DO, I think you would really love Unspoken! C&C is delightful, same with Curse! It’s on the slower side, but very interesting and a bit creepy.

      Hahaha I know!!! What if I hadn’t finally picked it up?! She did a book signing near me 3 months later, it was such serendipity.

  3. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    Oooh nice! Those are some new to me ones!! I think pretty much all my whimsy reads that I picked came from browsing the shelves!! It’s fun to discover books like that on my own. I feel like I rarely do that anymore, because 1 TBR Mountain of DOOM! and 2 when I see a new book I’m always pulling up Goodreads to see what my friends have said about it or if it’s new what early reviews might be saying about it.

    Ironically…I think I look to reason 2, because of reason 1. The book has to have me intrigued and I feel like I have to see my friends loving it too! Or even just random people loving it, but I look to Goodreads friends first and see what their ratings were!

    Here’s my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      It’s so fun to do that! Oh gosh, I completely agree. The TBR mountain (both real and imaginary) is out of control, and I do that with Goodreads too. I think I’ve talked myself out of a few books that way… it’s hard to decide these days. But random browsing is so great :)

  4. Bronwen

    I was trying to choose between Unspoken and a few other titles after just finishing Uprooted by Naomi Novik (would totally recommend btw). Thanks for the recommend, totally helped me make up my mind. 😀

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      Oh I’m so glad! :) Unspoken is fantastic, I hope you like it! I LOVED Uprooted!!! I wish I could find more books like it! The Treachery of Beautiful Things is a YA that sort of reminds me of it a little. But yeah. What an amazing book.

  5. Amber Elise @ Du Livre

    I’m so sad that I never had the chance to grab the first edition of Unspoken. Such a pretty cover! That took me by surprise so much. The cover looked almost childish and I never would have assumed how dark the book was based on the synopsis!

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      Soooo pretty! I’m sad they redesigned it. Gosh I know! It really was a surprise, I didn’t expect it to be so gothic and frightening in some ways. But in others it’s so funny and even romantic. Ahh. Now I want to read it again!

  6. Sarah K

    I own The Demon King. My husband has bought it but I still haven’t had a chance to dig into this series. It’s always hard to pick up a new series BUT I’ve heard great things about it and look forward to reading it!

    • Morgan @ Gone with the Words

      I feel the same way, I always hesitate to start something new! That’s a series that gets better with each book too, which is the best. It starts a little slow but intriguing and gets so good!

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.