Waiting on Wednesday: Not Exactly a Love Story

2012, Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: Not Exactly a Love Story

Waiting on Wednesday: Not Exactly a Love StoryNot Exactly a Love Story by Audrey Couloumbis
Published by Random House BfYR
Pub Date: December 11th 2012
Buy the book! | Goodreads

“A fifteen-year-old creates an alter ego to woo his dream girl. Compulsively readable.” —The New York Times

This quirky, flirty, and smart story will appeal to fans of Frank Portman’s King Dork, John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park. It’s not exactly a love story . . . but it’s pretty close.

It’s 1977. Fifteen-year-old Vinnie is recovering from the worst case of acne his dermatologist’s ever seen. His girl moved to California without saying good-bye. And the ink on his parents’ divorce papers is barely dry when his mom announces they’re moving from Queens to Long Island. The silver lining? Moving next door to Patsy, everyone’s dream girl. Not that she’d ever notice him. But when Vinnie calls Patsy one night, it leads to a chain of anonymous midnight conversations, and the two develop a surprisingly strong connection despite the lies it’s built on. But as Vinnie gets to know Patsy in real life, it’s clear that both identities can’t survive...

 

This cover is not the most attractive to my eye (edit: updated cover to new paperback edition, which is MUCH better), but the synopsis won me over. It sounds like nothing that is out there right now and it sounds like a lot of fun. Bring on the 70s!!

 

 

Review: Bared to You by Sylvia Day
Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books For 2013

Jess @ Gone with the Words

Jess @ Gone with the Words

About Jess @ Gone with the Words

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Facebook
Jess is a 30 something female living in Texas. Most days you will find her on Twitter, giving her opinion on her latest reads, her latest tv obsessions, movies, and hot dudes. In her free time she loves to watch tv, movies, and of course, read tons of books with hot dudes in them. She also makes time to run this blog. :)

9 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: Not Exactly a Love Story”

  1. Bookworm1858

    Yay for spotlighting a book that will arrive soon! I actually got an e-ARC of this and should be reading it pretty soon. Love how different it looks :)

  2. [email protected] GREAT read

    Haven’t heard of that one but hope you enjoy it once you read it! Nice pick!

    Here’s my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.